Gatherings are Transformational: An invitation to #decolonize16

From my fellow troublemaker and Sister in Christ…

dowdsermonizing

fergusonoct Photo credit: Heather Wilson

 

I had been in Ferguson since Mid August. I showed up not knowing exactly what I was doing or what my role was, but I felt compelled to show up anyways. I would like to say that I have always felt the urge to fight for Black liberation. I would like that to be true, and in some ways, yes, I have always felt a certain whisper urging me towards solidarity with the marginalized and oppressed.

But things were different now.

Now I was the mother to a Black daughter.

Now my responses were less driven from a theoretical or academic headspace. My response was less a measured response to an ethical or theological dilemma and more a lump in my throat, a brick in my gut, an inner scream that won’t stop.

A visceral response that Black mothers for centuries have known all too well

View original post 1,127 more words

Leave a Reply

