A Hard Week

It’s been a hard week.

One of my beloved Elders has walked on,

Because the Ancestors, 

Because the Creator

Has called him.

And so now how I move forward

in my pastoral life

reflects some of the wisdom he imparted in all of us

Perhaps I will get my Ph.D

Because our Elders have worked so hard, 

to pave the way

for transformative and restorative change

an uplifting of our people,

and what the Ancestors are calling us to.

But for now, how God has called me, takes precedence 

and so I will remain as one of the lights of God’s Creation

being loved and cared for and by this community of faith,

being loved and cared for by my Tribe

remembering the love and care of Papa Pete

who no doubtedly is having martinis with the Creator God

Remembering Dr. Pete Pero

Leave a Reply

