This is Why I Sing: Moral Mondays in Illinois

12190841_1046507248706431_5658838621376933339_n

Why do I take time away from my office where perhaps I could better use my time 

delving into theological roots 

so that knowledge pours out into my community.

Because the actions of the powerful, the Empire

impact my community as a whole

And therefore when they suffer, so do I

because it is they whom God has called me to care for

So I will never back down from this pathway of transformative justice

of Jubliee

Of restoring those who are considered the least of these

to the beauty that the Creator crafted and molded us all into

I walk, I protest, I march for my Ancestors

Because the drums still guide my heart.

Lape Bondye

Leave a Reply

