Running Away, Turning Away, Getting Away: How Long O Lord?

In the summer of 2009 I accepted a summer position working at a camp in rural IL where I had never been and wondered if they would ever accept me, as a person of color. 

I’ve been returning ever since, to work or to be a part of the work by serving on LOMC’s Board of Directors. 

This is the place where the Creator God spoke to me, and gave me direction and highlighted my path, God’s path in which I was to follow. 

So anytime the world gets to chaotic and crazy and hectic, I return here for sancity and sanctuary.

Yesterday, the word was even more uglier, and my spirit was drained and worn.

When asked to bring a witness and theology to counselors-to-be, I jumped at the chance.

Connecting with young teens, stressing to them why they have to be the Light and needing to see the Light in one another was fulfilling and healing for me. 

Leave a Reply

